“Just Follow Your Nose…”

25 May

As I was sitting down to type this post, I kept thinking of Toucan Sam from the FROOTLOOPS commercials when I was a kid… “Just follow ya noooose!” I think he was on to something – smell makes a BIG impression on the impression that we make on others. When it comes to getting ready in the morning, the finishing touch to any ensemble is the perfect fragrance! Often overlooked, the importance of finding an appropriate scent is not something to underestimate. After all, smell is one of the strongest triggers for the human memory. How do YOU want to be remembered?

I am certainly no expert in this area, but, through trial and error, I have come up with a regular rotation of my favorite fragrances for different occasions, as well as a list of covetables (as always 😛 ).

The Usual Suspects //

Here are my go-to fragrances that have served me well.

Day-to-day: My favorite fragrance for just everyday activities like work and school has to be L’Homme by Yves Saint Laurent. Subtle, yet intriguing, there are distinct notes of White Ginger, White Pepper, and Bergamot that are bright and uplifting. Certainly not a heavy scent, this one is my standby as it gives just a hint of understated refinement. Plus, I never have to worry about giving other people headaches from the overpowering smell of some abrasive cologne… (If you’ve ever taken public transit, you know of whom I speak… One of those guys that seems to have emptied half a bottle drenching himself with some foul cologne. Not good.)

L'Homme // Yves Saint Laurent

Evening: For night’s out, or for a fragrance that packs a little bit more punch, I go with Allure Homme by Chanel. While still not overpowering by any means, it has a definite “spicy” feel to it… Woody notes, but still clean. It’s a bit more intense, so I reserve this one for evening and use it sparingly. When applying fragrances, less is definitely more.

Allure Homme Edition Blanche // Chanel

Just for Fun: Every once in a while I will throw in Play by Givenchy just to switch things up. It is a more “lively” one, and has a lot of citrus notes. I’d say it’s definitely less subtle, but, every once in a while I’ll wear it for day or night depending on my mood. I think it can really transition between them or work for either.

Play // Givenchy

The Covetables

Grey Vetiver by Tom Ford // This is my next purchase for sure. I am in love with this, what more can I say. It just smells so perfect.

Grey Vetiver // Tom Ford

Bleu de Chanel by Chanel // The fragrances tagline is intriguing enough. “Be Unexpected.” Why, yes, I think I will!

Bleu de Chanel // Chanel

Until next time my faithful intrepids,

xx Scott

One Response to ““Just Follow Your Nose…””

  1. Crystal 26/05/2011 at 8:37 PM #

    Scott, you are so adorable, (i actually had a frootloop scone tonight at a gallery) I never knew there was so much subtly to men’s fragrances, the YSL sounds especially enchanting with scents other than just bucket of rubbing alcohol I usually smell.
    great informative blog post!
    x
    C

Leave a Reply

