More S/S 2012 Menswear Favorites // (a.k.a. Balmain)

30 Jun

Hello my faithful intrepids!

Having yesterday off was absolutely wonderful! I had time to catch up on all of the S/S 2012 Menswear shows, and I even managed to squeeze in a little bit of shopping. 🙂 Perhaps some pictures of the newest additions to my closet will follow! In particular, I am loving this navy wrap-style sleeveless top that I picked up at H&M. BUT, enough about me! 🙂 This post is just a quick update from me and then some of my favorite S/S 2012 Menswear looks from the rest of the shows. (You’ll notice that 4/6 of these pictures are from… SURPRISEBalmain)

With the departure of Christophe Decarnin at Balmain, the S/S 2012 menswear showing was the first collection by his former assistant, Olivier Rousteing – and thankfully, in this case, the apple does not fall from the tree. By staying true to the vision of his former master while also infusing bits of his own genius into the garments (pastels anyone?), with me at least, Rousteing hits a home-run. It’s hard to pick favorites, but over the past few seasons, I have always had a very STRONG (understatement) reaction to the menswear collections from Balmain – this of course is not a sleight against any other designer or fashion house, I’m just talking about in terms of what appeals to my personal sense of style, or what I would most want to wear… I just feel a strong affinity for Balmain. Love, love, love it. But I digress…

Here are some of my favorite looks from the rest of the S/S 2012 Menswear shows. (Just look at that floral blazer from Kenzo!)

What do you think about some of the new pairings/designers for established houses this season? Thoughts on Balmain and Olivier Rousteing? Do you think Kim Jones was as successful with Louis Vuitton? What were some of your favorite looks or collections?

 

Until next time my faithful intrepids, (I always feel a strong urge to insert “Keep Fit and Have Fun!” at this part of the post… but I ain’t no Hal Johnson or Joanne McLeod 😛 )

xx Scott

One Response to “More S/S 2012 Menswear Favorites // (a.k.a. Balmain)”

  1. Crystal Yeoms 18/07/2011 at 9:48 AM #

    kay i didn’t read this at a relevant time but I totally dig the entire styling of balmain. David would probably flip over pastel yellow pants (he already has pink and teal ones) the model looks young but the hair is styled in a more realistic way so I can see boys actually wearing it (case in point kenzo’s hair..)
    and outfit posts yes! or just spread it out on your bed so we can see!
    x
    c

Leave a Reply

